Lei Xue

lei-xue-lxs-20
Lei Xue, "drinking tea, cherry blossoms"

Lei Xue

lei-xue

Ice-blue, steel-blue, hydrangea-blue. And, what´s more, Capri-blue, ocean-blue. Blue is the colour of eternal hope. Blue conveys both depth and lightness. Blue is the ultimate colour of summer. That also applies to the "Drinking Tea" artwork of Lei Xue. 

Born in 1974, Lei Xue paints, makes pottery and works on film projects. As a ceramicist he is a confirmed perfectionist. He first shapes peculiar beverage cans from clay, then uses them as moulds for his porcelain mass. After the initial of several firing stages, Lei takes to using a hair-thin brush. He loves drawing classical motifs and emblems from his Chinese homeland, more precisely: the Ming dynasty. Dragons fume, samurai dance, cherry blossoms flourish. Not the usual, run-of-the-mill style so familiar on mugs, plates and pots, but on objects like the million-fold beverage cans of the consumerist, throwaway society that end up binned, crushed and crumpled in the garbage. 

Lei´s cans even boast a pull-tab opener on their lid. The artist keeps a close watch on each firing stage to ensure his objects do not shrink but emerge at exactly the right size. No can has evoked so much interest and care in cans since Andy Warhol. 

East meets west, ancient China encounters pop art and culture. Blue is the colour of hope.

lei-xue-tee-trinken

"Drinking Tea", 2009, hand-painted porcelain cans

request price

lei-xue-vase-computer

"Vase Computer", 2015, hand-painted porcelain, 15.75 x 7.09 x 7.09 in

request price

lei-xue-vase-mit-delle

"Dented Vase", 2009, hand-painted porcelain, 15.75 x 7.09 x 7.09 in

request price

0
1
2

Lei Xue

lei-xue-lxs-20
Lei Xue, "Teetrinken, Kirschblüten"

Lei Xue

lei-xue

Eisblau, Stahlblau, Hortensienblau. Nicht zu vergessen Capriblau, Ozeanblau. Blau ist die Farbe der ewigen Hoffnung. Blau hat Tiefe und Leichtigkeit zugleich. Blau ist die ultimative Farbe des Sommers. 

Das passt zur Arbeit Teetrinken von Lei Xue. Lei Xue, Jahrgang 1974, malt, arbeitet in Keramik und realisiert auch Filmprojekte. Als Keramiker ist er beinharter Perfektionist; formt diese seltsamen Dosen erst einmal in Ton, fertigt davon dann eine Rohform an für die Porzellanmasse. Nach dem ersten von mehreren Brennvorgängen greift Lei zum haarfeinen Pinsel. Er liebt die klassischen Motive und Embleme seiner chinesischen Heimat, genauer: der Ming-Dynastie. Drachen toben, Samurai tanzen, Kirschblüten öffnen sich. Aber eben nicht wie gewöhnlich und abgenutzt auf Tassen, Tellern, Kannen, sondern auf Objekten in Gestalt typischer  Getränkedosen der 
Ex-und-hopp-Dynastie, wie sie millionenfach zerknautscht im Müll landen. Auf Leis Dosen sitzt sogar der Aluverschluss obendrauf korrekt. Die Brennprozesse verfolgt der Meister penibel, damit seine Objekte nicht zu stark schrumpfen. Schließlich sollen die Gefäße exakt die vertraute Größe haben. Seit Andy Warhol wurde keiner Dose mehr so viel Aufmerksamkeit geschenkt. 
East meets West, altes China trifft auf Turbo- und Pop. Blau ist die Farbe der Hoffnung.

lei-xue-tee-trinken

"Tee trinken" 2009, handbemalte Porzellandosen

Preis anfragen

lei-xue-vase-computer

"Vase Computer" 2015, handbemaltes Porzellan, 40 x 18 x 18 cm

Preis anfragen

lei-xue-vase-mit-delle

"Vase mit Delle" 2009, handbemaltes Porzellan, 40 x 18 x 18 cm

Preis anfragen

0
1
2